District at a Glance

Composite Perambalur District came in to existence after trifurcation of Tiruchirappalli district with effect from 30.09.1995 as per G.O MS.No 913 Revenue / Y3 dated 30.09.1995. In the Government Orders G.O (Ms)No. 656, Revenue, Dated. 29.12.2000 and G.O (Ms)No. 657, Revenue, Dated. 29.12.2000 , the Government ordered Perambalur District to be bifurcated into two Districts , Perambalur District with headquarters at Perambalur and Ariyalur District with headquarters at Ariyalur. The District first came into existence on 01-01-1995.

Subsequently, in the Government orders G.O (Ms)No. 167, Revenue, Dated. 19.4.2002, and G.O (Ms)No. 168, Revenue, Dated. 19.4.2002 , the Government ordered that the above two districts be merged into one as Perambalur District with headquarters at Perambalur. Later, vide the Government Order G.O (Ms) NO. 683 Dated. 19.11.2007, Government again passed orders that Perambalur District be reorganised and bifurcated into two districts Perambalur and Ariyalur.

Perambalur District is centrally located in TamilNadu and is 267 K.M away, in southern direction, from Chennai. The District has an area of 1,757 Sq.Km. spread between 10.54’ and 11.30’ degree Northern latitude and 78.40’ and 79.30’ degree of the Eastern longitude.

It is an inland district without coastal line. The District has Vellar River in the North and it has well marked natural divisions. The PACHAMALAI hill situated on the North boundary of Perambalur is the most important hill in the district.

As per 2010 Census, the total Population of Perambalur District is 5,65,223. The density of population in the district is 321 per Sq.Km